Jesus Calling…

HANDS-OF-POTTERY-WITH-ISAIAH-64“Father,” I said to myself.  “Let this be the one.” 

I was dressed in the best suit I had.  Well, the only suit really.  Slate gray and freshly pressed.  A baby blue dress shirt with matching baby blue, black, silver and gray tie.  Black Italian leather dress shoes and matching belt with pewter buckle.  My right hand was free, and I carried a leather-bound notebook in my left.  I took a steadying breath and walked into the Solicitor-General’s office. 

There were four people in the room.  All were well-dressed, professional and they all sized me up when I entered.  The one I would find out later who was their supervisor sat behind the large desk to my right.  The other three, two women and one man- all about my age, were seated in chairs or on a couch to my left.  They all stood to greet me and introduced themselves as I cordially shook their hands.  One of the women was the Office Manager and Assistant to the Solicitor-General…the man in charge.  The other woman was the Domestic Violence Prosecutor for the Solicitor’s Office.  The man was the Chief Investigator.  Once I finished those greetings, I turned, shook the hand of the man behind the desk and sat in one of the two chairs that faced it.  He was the Assistant Solicitor-General.  Number two.

“Here we go,” I thought as the interview began.  “Your will be done, Father.”

“And we know that God causes everything to work together for the good of those who love God and are called according to His purpose for them.  For God knew His people in advance, and He chose them to become like His Son, so that His Son would be the firstborn among many brothers and sisters.  And having chosen them, He called them to come to Him.  And Having called them, He gave them right standing with Himself.  And having given them right standing, He gave them glory.”
-Romans 8:28-30

By the time I finished, I had a great feeling about this job.  I had already been to several other interviews at various police departments in the area, but the waiting time and hiring process for law enforcement is pretty lengthy.  Especially in this area, where there are so many applicants.  My search, however, wasn’t limited to LE positions.  I was putting applications in everywhere.  I just knew I had to go to work, but, more importantly, I knew that God had something out there for me.

Rewind a few months ago.  Wow.  Has it been that long since I’ve spoken to you all?  Time flies, doesn’t it?  We moved to Douglasville to be closer to family and to Emory University Medical Center where Lena has to go every month to make sure the cancer doesn’t come back.  After nearly dying, having to have a partial hysterectomy and still being blessed with her dream job, we left two of our girls, our home, my job, our church home and friends behind.  It was truly a leap of faith to come here.  We moved in with my mother-in-law, and I began the job hunt.

How many of you know that God is an awesome God who’s timing is always perfect?  It may not be when or how you want, but He’s the one with the master plan.

“My thoughts are nothing like your thoughts,” says the Lord.  “And my ways are far beyond anything you could imagine.  For just as the heavens are higher than the earth, so my ways are higher than your ways and my thoughts higher than your thoughts.”
-Isaiah 55:8-9

And those plans, for those that are willing to accept Him and trust Him and follow Him and live for Him are your blessings.

“For I know the plans I have for you,” says the Lord. “They are plans for good and not for disaster, to give you a future and a hope.”
-Jeremiah 29:11

Today, I am pleased to say that I am the DV/CWAC (Domestic Violence/Crimes Against Women and Children) Investigator for the Douglas County Solicitor-General’s Office.  That interview was the first of two.  The people I interviewed with were tasked with giving the Solicitor-General a short list of three people for him to interview.  When we finished up, the Assistant Solicitor-General told me that they had some more interviews to do, and they would be in touch.  I thought to myself as I left that it would probably take at least another week before I heard anything.  The Office Manager called the next day.  “Can you come in this afternoon to interview with the Solicitor-General?” she asked.  My reply, “When and where?”  I had been searching for a job for well over two months when I saw this listing online.  From the time I saw the posting to the time I was hired was exactly one week.  God is so good!

Here’s the lesson in all this.  Be patient and ask for God’s guidance in all things.  Let Him lead you.  Give Him the reins and enjoy the ride.  He has something in store for you if you’ll just let Him do what He always wants to do…and that’s bless you!

Lena and I now have our dream jobs.  We now live in our own place.  The girls are in great schools.  Our financial difficulties are finally righting themselves.  Lena’s hormone levels (the ones that determine if the cancer is gone) are down to two.  Our struggles are becoming less and less.  We’re moving forward from our grief and trials and tests.  Trust Him.  Be patient.  Be strong.  The darkness that we experience on this earth is NOTHING compared to the light at the end of the tunnel.

There have been so many things that have happened to continually show us that we’re right where He wants us to be.  I’ll save those stories for another day, though.  In the meantime, be blessed and be a blessing!

This song represents the place in our lives He’s leading us to.  I pray that you’ll be able to be still and know that He is here…now.  He’s calling your name.

4 responses to “Jesus Calling…

  1. I’ve often thought of you guys and wondered how things were coming along; overjoyed at the update! Found this recently and know you’d love it …

    MJ

Leave a Reply

