His Death…

victory-of-life-and-peaceI wonder…will there ever be a day when I don’t go through life without thinking of death?  This morning, while sitting on the front porch, coffee in hand, in the pre-light hours after dawn but before sunrise, I could hear life all around me.  The birds were greeting each other, “Good morning!”  Cars drove by as people started their day, hurrying off to breakfast or the store or to work.  The wind whispered through the leaves in the trees, softly saying to me, “I carry life with me, on my back, in my hands.”  There is still green in the grass, and the dirt still bears forth insects and seedlings.  And the wind-chimes.  They speak to me of her life, and they always bring a smile to my face.  I envision that she’s calling to me, “Good morning, Daddy!  I love and miss you!”  I miss you, too, Sweet Pea.

Invariably, though, and in spite of all the living and breathing, my thoughts turned to her death.  My loss.  The grief and pain.  And a melancholy began to creep into the back of my mind.  The colors faded just a bit.  The wind seemed to speak more harshly.  The chimes lost some of their melody and had more of a cacophony in them.  And just as I was about to give up on the morning reverie, a thought came to my mind.

It’s death that I should focus on EVERY day.  HIS death.

Yes, Mia went home too soon in my opinion.  Yes, I think of her and it daily.  But do I think of Christ’s death every day?  No.  As important and loved as Mia is to me, is she more valued than my Father?  Is she worth more than what Christ did for me to allow me to see her again?  The answer, as much as it pains me to say this, is no.

Follow me here for a moment.  Thoughts of Mia, the good thoughts of her life and the short time she spent with us, allow us to relate to others struggling through their grief.  They give us strength to carry on with our foundation and help other SIDS families and those in the child-loss community.

Thoughts of Him, however, can change our entire world!  Think about it.  The next time you’re sitting in the office and someone starts gossiping about a colleague, co-worker, friend, etc., and you think of Christ’s death for you, do you honestly believe you’ll be tempted to join in the conversation?  Or do you think that you might actually get up and leave?  Or better yet, actually speak out for Him to remind those that are doing the talking that they wouldn’t want someone doing that to them.

Keeping His death at the center of your thoughts allows us to be more like Him.  We wouldn’t be so quick to anger or hate.  We wouldn’t be so quick to yell at the people who pull out in front of us as we’re speeding down the highway at 60 miles per hour…and they’re only doing 30.  Maybe they just saved you from striking the deer that jumped across the road about a mile before you got there.  We’d be more forgiving of our exes (submit girlfriend, boyfriend, husband, wife here) if we have one in our lives.  Our anger wouldn’t be so quick to flare up when our spouse doesn’t react the way we feel they should to something we did for them. We would be less likely to snap back when they yell at us in the heat of the moment.  And we’d be more giving, loving, sharing, kind, considerate, generous, selfless, forthright, brave, outspoken and just plain nice to those around us.

The point I’m trying to make is this:  never forget what Christ did for you by dying on that cross.  Think about it each and every day that you’re graced with another morning, afternoon, and night.  And watch what it will do in your life and the lives of those around you.  He is constantly making all things new.

“The Lord took hold of me, and I was carried away by the Spirit of the Lord to a valley filled with bones. He led me all around among the bones that covered the valley floor. They were scattered everywhere across the ground and were completely dried out. Then He asked me, “Son of man, can these bones become living people again?”

“O Sovereign Lord,” I replied, “You alone know the answer to that.”

Then He said to me, “Speak a prophetic message to these bones and say, ‘Dry bones, listen to the word of the Lord! This is what the Sovereign Lord says: Look! I am going to put breath into you and make you live again! I will put flesh and muscles on you and cover you with skin. I will put breath into you, and you will come to life. Then you will know that I am the Lord.’”

So I spoke this message, just as He told me. Suddenly as I spoke, there was a rattling noise all across the valley. The bones of each body came together and attached themselves as complete skeletons. Then as I watched, muscles and flesh formed over the bones. Then skin formed to cover their bodies, but they still had no breath in them.

Then He said to me, “Speak a prophetic message to the winds, son of man. Speak a prophetic message and say, ‘This is what the Sovereign Lord says: Come, O breath, from the four winds! Breathe into these dead bodies so they may live again.’”

So I spoke the message as He commanded me, and breath came into their bodies. They all came to life and stood up on their feet—a great army.”
– Ezekiel 37:1-10

Mia’s Angelversary (the day she received her angel wings) is coming up on the 19th…just two days away.  For some reason, it’s always harder leading up to that terrible day as opposed to the actual day itself.  It’s so hard to fathom that it’s been three years!

I would ask all who come across this post to please lift our family up in prayer for continued strength, peace and mercy.  We miss you, Mia.  But we know that because of what He did for us, we’ll get to see you very soon.  Be blessed, everyone.  May His death be ever-present wherever you go.

This one is one of my favorite Hillsong songs.  Dry Bones…need I say more?

12 responses to “His Death…

  1. True words, and deeply stirring. I’m praying your hearts are strengthened this week, and you can rejoice in Christ’s resurrection. Because He lives, we’re assured Mia is in His presence. That fact doesn’t discount the pain, but it softens the sting of death.

  2. How well I can relate relate to focusing on death, not of a child, but of parents who journeyed to heaven within 12 days of each other. Thank you for this perspective on whose death we should focus. Suddenly the day is not so gloomy. (Pause) Prayers sent for you and yours.
    Keep the Faith!

Leave a Reply

