Three Months and Thirteen Days…

thank_god_for_everything_3-wallpaper-1600x900I love my family more than life itself.  And I’m truly thankful for each and every one of them and the joy they bring to my heart.  I’m thankful for friends that encourage me on this journey and pray for me when I need it.  For that matter, I’m thankful for strangers that do the same.  Bless you all this Thanksgiving Day and every day.  If there’s one thing I’ve learned since Mia died, however, it’s that there’s a whole different level of thanks that we should be striving for.

I thank Him for His grace and mercy, without which I wouldn’t be able to see her again.  I thank Him for the strength He gives me to weather the storm that this life has become more days than not.  I thank Him for His wisdom that He sends to recognize otherworldly attempts to discourage and dishearten me.  I thank Him for my future…for the glory that awaits me when I finally come home.  I thank Him for the gifts that the Holy Spirit has bestowed upon me.  I thank Him for opening my eyes to see life from a new perspective, one that helps me to see beyond jealousy and envy, pride and prejudice , hate and anger.

Make no mistake, I still experience all of these things and am in no way perfect.  I’m a work in progress, just like the rest of us.  It’s just that in running to God after Mia’s loss and not away from Him, I try to walk closer than I ever have.  Which leads me to the thing that I’m most thankful for on this, what would have been Mia’s second Thanksgiving…

three months and thirteen days, from December 6th, 2011 to March 19th, 2012.  He trusted us with her for those precious few days, and they have changed my life, my heart and my soul forever.

“How we thank God for you!  Because of you we have great joy as we enter God’s presence.  Night and day we pray earnestly for you, asking God to let us see you again…”
1 Thessalonians 3:9-10

Live EVERY day with a thankful heart.  You never know when it may be your last.

Happy Thanksgiving, Sweet Pea.

Leave a Reply

