Nothing is Wasted…

jesus_feet“All of you together are Christ’s body, and each of you is a part of it.  Here are some of the parts God has appointed for the church:

first are apostles,
second are prophets,
third are teachers,
then those who do miracles,
those who have the gift of healing,
those who can help others,
those who have the gift of leadership,
those who speak in unknown languages.

Are we all apostles?  Are we all prophets?  Are we all teachers?  Do we all have the power to do miracles?  Do we all have the gift of healing?  Do we all have the ability to speak in unknown languages?  Do we all have the ability to interpret unknown languages?  Of course not!  So you should earnestly desire the most helpful gifts.” -1 Corinthians 12:27-31

For the last several days, I have been very disheartened and discouraged concerning the foundation.  I know that we are doing a good thing by honoring God and Mia the way we are, but it’s been very hard to do almost by myself.  Lena does what she can, but she’s been having a hard time lately.  Couple that with having to work, take care of the kids, pay the bills, etc (basically life), and it sometimes feels that we need to simplify things even more than what God has already.

I was praying last week as I was riding around in my patrol car.  I told Him that if He really wanted us to go forward with this foundation, that I needed His help.  I told Him that I couldn’t do it alone…I didn’t have the time nor the energy truly needed to really kick-start our efforts.  This was especially true for the fundraising part of things.  I told Him that if He really wanted us to keep going and go to Atlanta to Celebrate Freedom (a sponsorship opportunity for the foundation that will put us in front of about 70,000 people!) on the 31st of this month, I needed Him to make a way.

The very next day, a woman literally drove me down on the street on my way home from work.  She proceeded to tell me about how her son, who is 30, was driving around with a suspended driver’s license and was on something.  She didn’t want him to hurt himself or someone else, so she told me to keep an eye out for him.  As we were talking, a butterfly flew across both of our cars.  I smiled at it because any time I see one, I feel it’s Mia letting me know she’s there.  The woman saw me smile at it, and she did as well.  She told me that she loves butterflies and flowers.  Before I could think about it, I just started talking about Mia and the foundation.

We continued to talk for about 20 minutes going back and forth from her son to our foundation with a lot of scripture in between.  I got out of my car to show her the picture of Mia that I keep on my phone.  As she looked at it, she almost started crying.  She then reached into her purse and pulled out her checkbook.  She asked me if we take donations… I began to tear up right there and explained to her what I was just praying and about our Atlanta opportunity.  I thanked Him all the way home.

The very next day, He confirmed that we are doing His will in our lives.  As the deadline (Aug. 6th) for our sponsorship to Celebrate Freedom is coming up, I was still questioning.  I know that I’m supposed to have all faith in Him that He can work any miracle, but I’m human.  And as such, it’s natural for me to doubt.  I finished my shift at 6:00 pm and two HUGE butterflies led me into my driveway as I pulled up to the house.  I got out and started taking pictures of them as they flew around Mia’s butterfly bushes.  When I was finished, I walked to the mailbox and got a letter from someone in Hahira whose name I didn’t recognize.  I saw that it was for the foundation, and I opened it.  It was from a woman who Lena and I met only once before about five or six months ago at a child loss support group.  It was her first time there, and we almost didn’t make it in.  We were arguing on the way over, and Lena didn’t want to go.  I told her I was anyway, and when I met this woman, I went out to the car and told her to come in.  She needed to talk to her.  The woman had lost two children- one to stillbirth and the other to miscarriage.

In her letter, the woman proceeded to tell us that she was encouraged by our strength, perseverance, and faith.  She thanked us for reaching out to others to share Jesus with them, especially to those who are suffering through the loss of a child/children.  In the end, she thanked us for being the hands and feet of Jesus.  There was a check in the letter.  She wanted to honor her two children by making a donation to the foundation.  It gave us the rest of the money needed to get the sponsorship and then some!  I was immediately reduced to tears and asked His forgiveness for doubting Him.

The phrase she used, “being the hands and feet of Jesus,” struck a chord with me.  I looked it up in the concordance in my bible.  I Googled it.  I called a couple pastor friends of mine.  The verse above is the reference I was led to.  As I meditate on it, one thing occurs to me:  if we follow Christ and let Him live through us, then there’s a little bit of each of the parts in all of us.  If we let Him live through us, we can be healers.  We can be motivators.  We can be teachers.  We can lead people to Him.  We can be His voice on earth.  What are you doing to be the hands and feet of Jesus for someone today?

This song speaks to our hearts very dearly through Mia’s loss.  It reminds us that there is no trial we go through in life that God can’t use for His honor and glory.  Nothing is wasted to Him.  Jason Gray is going to be in Atlanta at the Celebrate Freedom weekend.  I pray that God allows us to introduce him to Mia and let him know how his music is touching lives.  I ask for your prayers as well…that He continues to give us direction and open doors for The Baby Butterfly Foundation.  Blessings to you all…

~Guy

8 responses to “Nothing is Wasted…

  1. I am always amazed at how things work out sometimes; but then I tell myself God is a God of miracles and He loves His children beyond measure, so why should I be surprised? You and yours continue to be in my prayers. God bless.

Leave a Reply

