Fix You…

broke-chains-wallpaper_1366x768A short time ago, I asked a dear friend, Brother-in-Christ and fellow blogger if he wouldn’t mind being a guest post on Holy Ghost Bumps.  We prayed about it, and, in His perfect timing, this is what God gave him to share.  Its timing is perfect in that it continues the “finding joy again”, “give me strength”, “why, Father?” theme that I’ve been given lately.  This one reminds us that no matter the circumstances in our life, He is there.  And He can fix you. 

Here’s Kent Roberts from Spiritual Drift…thank you, Brother.

The experiences are different, yet the questions remain the same.

For one person, the phone call is devastating.  “There’s something wrong.”  Three words you hope never to hear in regards to your three-month-old baby.

For another, the accident is horrific.  Lives were lost; including a nine-day-old infant.

Where is God in all this?

For me, the accident was no more than a flash of memories.  For my wife, it was overwhelming.  She was not the mother of the infant.  She was driving that night; she was the cause.  We were on the freeway.  Something distracted us both.  We looked away.  We drifted from the right hand lane onto the shoulder.  There were no rumble strips back then; we had no idea.  When we looked back, the car was there.  It was parked.

It’s amazing how big a car looks from a hundred yards away.  That’s when we saw it.  At least, that’s what the accident investigator told us anyway.  He said the “striations” started about 100 feet from impact.  That’s when my wife turned the wheel and the tires dug into the asphalt leaving the telltale markings on the road.  The typical reaction time in an auto accident is between 1 and 1 ½ seconds.  That includes recognition, comprehension and muscle movement.  At 75 mph, a car is moving 110 ft. per second.  You do the math.

I was not wearing a seat belt.  At the point of impact, I went up, forward and to the right, hitting the support pillar between the windshield and side window.  This was only because my wife did something really unusual when she saw the other car parked there.  She didn’t brake.  The investigator was dumbfounded.  You always brake.  When something’s directly in front of you, you always flinch.  It’s a natural reaction.  She didn’t.  Instead, she cranked the wheel; tried to correct.  That threw me up and to the right.  Into the pillar.  She saved my life.  Not only saved my life, but I got out of the vehicle and walked away: From a 70 mph head-on collision.  If she’d have reacted ‘typically’ I’d have been thrown through the windshield.  I’d have died.

Like the three other people did.  Including the nine-day-old infant.

Where is God in all this?

Well, I can answer that question. For me.  But what about my wife?  She was devastated.  She’d taken life.  She’d killed.

Of course, people tried to comfort her.  She was a believer, even then.  People prayed for her; prayed with her; prayed over her.  They sent her cards of sympathy.  They gave her scripture verses: including Philippians 4:4-7

Rejoice in the Lord always. I will say it again: Rejoice! Let your gentleness be evident to all. The Lord is near. Do not be anxious about anything, but in every situation, by prayer and petition, with thanksgiving, present your requests to God. And the peace of God, which transcends all understanding, will guard your hearts and your minds in Christ Jesus.

In fact, she got that one multiple times.  It was nice, and all the people were thoughtful; with the best of intentions.  Yet it didn’t answer my wife’s burning question.

Where is God in all this?

We were even invited to church.  It was a difficult decision.  We didn’t feel like worshiping.  We didn’t feel like “rejoicing”.  We didn’t feel God at all.  But in the end, we felt we had nothing to lose.

The Sunday after the accident we accepted the offer from some customers of ours at the restaurant we owned at the time.  It was a church we’d thought about going to for a while but ‘never got around to it’.

The entire sermon was based on Philippians 4.

Philippians 4:4-13 to be exact, which ends with:

13 I can do all this through Him who gives me strength.

That’s when we found God in all of this. 

He wasn’t in the scripture.  He wasn’t in the church, or in the pastor’s words.  The comfort didn’t come from Philippians although, reading it today, it is a very comforting passage.  We found Him in the repeated providing of that one passage.  The sheer amount of times it was brought to us; brought to our attention.  God wasn’t saying to us, “Take comfort. Take comfort. Take comfort.”  He was merely saying, “I’m here.  I’m here.  I’m here.”  Repeating it until we finally listened.

An accident like that is something you never ‘get over’.  The other man who survived eventually remarried, began a new family and found his own relationship with God.  We wish him every prayer of peace, wisdom, forgiveness and understanding.  Again, an accident like that is something you never get over.  Just like losing an infant to SIDS is something you never get over.  But it is something you can eventually ‘move beyond’.

When tragedy strikes, sometimes the least comforting thing, and the last thing, you want to hear is, “Take comfort. Take comfort. Take comfort.”  Instead, the comfort is most often found in, “I’m here. I’m here. I’m here.”  Whether those words come from your family, your friends . . .

Or God.  Who is indeed there, through all of it.

By His stripes, death, burial and resurrection, He can Fix You!

4 responses to “Fix You…

  1. Reblogged this on Spiritual Drift and commented:
    Thank you, Guy. This story still brings my wife to emotion, but it wasn’t until you added that damn song that it got to me as well! 😉 This is a personal story of our family, and of God’s presence in tragedy.

  2. Thank you Guy for your support for Kent and his wife, I hope you don’t mind if I share with Ken as I feel in my heart to do so.

    Dear Kent, thank you for sharing what must have been a very painful time in your lives, I feel very much for your wife, God will lessen the pain of her memories as He gave you support to comfort her and you are right, God does not ask you to rejoice for what you suffered but that He was with you in it, you both were not alone (see below ) why did He not stop it happening, He will stop all evil soon but He is patient and tolerates it not wanting anyone to perish, meaning be separated from Him eternally.

    Lamentations 3: 33 For He doth not afflict willingly nor grieve the children of men.

    Isaiah 43:1-3 – Do not be afraid, for I have ransomed you. I have called you by name; you are mine. When you go through deep waters and great trouble, I will be with you. When you go through rivers of difficulty, you will not drown! When you walk through the fire of oppression, you will not be burned up; the flames will not consume you. For I am the LORD, your God, the Holy One of Israel, your Saviour.”

    Jeremiah 29 :11-12 For I know the thoughts that I think toward you, says the LORD, thoughts of peace and not of evil, to give you a future and a hope.

    To condense, I have 7 Children in Heaven, I was told by a Church they went to hell, I was molested by 5 different men from the age of 3 the last one a Doctor raped me, I was not yet 15, I was told by Christians it was in God’s plan for my Life, thankfully God had prepared me and had given me Scripture to confirm these claims were in error and my Love and Trust in Him in Him and His goodness is very firm, I have no doubts.

    God is Love all good things come from Him not bad, He can do no evil nor does He willingly allow it, Satan controls this earth, but God protects our soul and until our allotted time is over He will intervene if necessary and save our lives or heal us and give us to strength to endure and also comfort us. So many do not understand God’s heart, they blame Him for many things which causes fear and lack of Trust even if sugar-coated, they do not understand the meaning of the old Hebrew Scriptures or the terminology used at that time, they do not know God’s heart or that His plans for us are good and so they are in error or deceived by those who are false teachers.

    Please be assured you are both Loved greatly by God and He grieved with you and was with you through it all.

    Christian Love from both of us – Anne

Leave a Reply

