On Struggles…

prayingmanI can’t find a job.  I’m behind on every single bill that I have because I can’t find a job.  Groceries are getting scarce, and my children need some new (almost never name-brand) clothes for school.  The shouting matches between my wife and I could wake the dead…BECAUSE of the financial difficulties…BECAUSE I can’t find a job.  Our economy is getting worse by the day, which is WHY I can’t find a job.  Sickness. Tragedy.  Stress.  Any of this sound familiar to you out there?  Can any of you relate to the struggles of life?  If you can’t, bless you!  If you can, I will add you to my prayers.  For that’s what we’re supposed to do for our brothers and sisters when they struggle.  We are to pray.

“Dear brothers and sisters, I urge you in the name of our Lord Jesus Christ to join in my struggle by praying to God for me.  Do this because of your love for me, given to you by the Holy Spirit.  Pray that I will be rescued from those in Judea who refuse to obey God.  Pray also that the believers there will be willing to accept the donation I am taking to Jerusalem.  Then, by the will of God, I will be able to come to you with a joyful heart, and we will be an encouragement to each other.”
-Romans 15:30-32

For the last few months, our family has been going through a lot of these struggles that I named above.  Though I am working now (thank You, Jesus!), it was pretty rough around here for a while.  Though we still have a long way to go, we know that there is a light (however dim) at the end of the tunnel.  These pains have been playing havoc on everything in our lives, especially our faith.  Add to them that we are still trying to find our way through the loss of our daughter in March of last year, and you have one heck of a bumpy road.  It’s easy to lose sight of Him when you’re up against it.  It’s easy to turn your sights inward, on your struggles, instead of keeping your eyes on the heavens…to keep searching for His beautiful face in the midst of the storm.

This post isn’t going to be a long one.  I just felt it on my heart to let you know that, no matter what you are going through right now, it’s not too big for God to handle.  Am I writing this for me as much as I am for you?  Probably.  Will it be hard for me to practice what I preach?  Definitely.  The enemy would rather I dwell in the low places and lose everything in the process.  And I will struggle.  At least I KNOW that I will…and “knowing is half the battle” (thank you, G.I. Joe :D).

I will continue to pray for me and my family, but as I do, I will pray for you, too.  I will pray that God brings you through whatever your struggle.  I will pray that He brings you His strength, peace and mercy.  I will pray for His comfort to wrap you in its warmth, like that of a brightly burning fire on a cold winter’s day.  I will pray…and I ask for you to do the same.

Please take a moment to comment with a prayer request.  I DESPERATELY want to include you in my prayers.  We will ALL be blessed for it…

27 responses to “On Struggles…

  1. Hi Guy, thanks for sharing. Your post is both relatable and inspiring. I pray that as you pray for me that we are empowered by the Holy Spirit to keep our eyes fixed on our Heavenly Father. Have a wonderful day.

    Ephesians 3:18 And may you have the power to understand, as all God’s people should, how wide, how long, how high, and how deep his love is.

  2. Guy
    I think of you and your family often and continue “ALL” in prayer for God’s Will in your lives
    A house divided cannot stand and the Prayer of Protection must be spoken sometimes second by second or minute by minute
    The evil one ALWAYS strikes at our weakest moments
    Call out Jesus name during those times – the devil must flee at the sound of HIS name
    God Bless all of you and I will keep up the prayers for you and the family
    susie

      • Guy
        My family and I have lived through marriage problems, family problems and living situation problems. My husband’s career found us chasing the buidling boom where ever IT was : CA, WA, OR and NV
        Not once during the struggles did I “clearly” see God’s Plan for our lives – His Plan was always revealed AFTER our struggle
        That’s when we could see His Plan, His Miracles, His GRACE
        Myabe, we did IT the wrong way but God in His Mercy always provided even when we had little
        I have no answers for you or the family BUT GOD does (and I know you know that you know this)
        Keep on Keeping On, my friend,
        Draw near ALWAYS to God – speak out loud to the Holy Spirit for protection and rest in Jesus during this difficult time
        God Bless

  3. Let us comfort each other and edify one another. (1 Thessalonians 5:11 NKJV) Praying for you and your family that through it all, remember…He will never forsake you.

  4. In His name, with His love, in His grace . . .may our Father continue to provide our daily bread . . .til one day we shall dine at the wedding banquet in the heavenlies.

    Remembering your needs, sharing mine, lifting up everyone, shalom.

  5. God is always here for us in the right time. Remember when we least expect it, he is there. You are a strong minded person and I know that God will take care of you.

  6. Brother: I pray for you and your family, but now realize the depths of your struggle. He is sufficient to lead you through, even when the darkness is so dense. I believe that you know this truth, as evidenced by how you glorify our great God and Savior through your beautiful writing. Especially as the first anniversary approaches, I will keep you close to my heart – from one grieving father to another.

    Please pray that I will love my wife unconditionally, willing to lay down my rights and desires for her well-being – just as Christ did for me.

    • Thank you so very much, Brother. You know all to well the road I walk, with you being just a bit farther along than I. I will pray for you to be the man that He calls you to be…the father He calls you to be for your children…the husband He calls you to be for your wife…and the son He calls you to be for Him. Blessings to you and your family…

  7. Prayers for you now and in the days to come. I want to share some uplifting words I’ve read lately, and come back to often:

    ““God knows your value; He sees your potential. You may not understand everything you are going through right now. But hold your head up high, knowing that God is in control and he has a great plan and purpose for your life. Your dreams may not have turned out exactly as you’d hoped, but the Bible says that God’s ways are better and higher than our ways, even when everybody else rejects you, remember, God stands before you with His arms open wide. He always accepts you. He always confirms your value. God sees your two good moves! You are His prized possession. No matter what you go through in life, no matter how many disappointments you suffer, your value in God’s eyes always remains the same. You will always be the apple of His eye. He will never give up on you, so don’t give up on yourself.” – Joel Osteen

    Keep being an apple 🙂 MJ

  8. Guy, I am praying for you all and I can’t express how much I needed to read this too. Thank you for expressing things that needed to be said. Bless each one of you.

    • You’re very welcome, Tammy. I knew that I wasn’t writing this for just me. I really had it on my heart that someone else needed to hear it too. Thank you for your blessing…

  9. Guy – Lena and family prayers for His peace and presence for you all. Thank you Jesus for bringing work and income. You ARE the provider of ALL. You have warned and shown us that is this world we will have trouble BUT…..YOU HAVE OVERCOME and we will too. I can relate to much of your struggles but unfortunately or fortunately I go through them alone. I am thankful that HE is always there, always caring, always wanting immeasurably more for me and for you. We WILL overcome by the blood of the Lamb and the word of our testimony. He is faithful. prayers continue dear brother

Leave a Reply

