It Was Then That I Carried You…

Tears streaming down my cheeks, I walk alone along the shore.  My path takes me between the soft, white sand further inland  and the edge of where the waves stop and recede back into the ocean.  A long line of footprints trail behind me.  It’s daybreak, the sun having just crested the horizon bathing the sky and cotton-esque clouds in purples, oranges and yellows.  Though the scene is majestic, my heart is heavy.  The burdens bear down on me making it difficult to walk even on the hard part of the beach.

My thoughts turn to Him and my step becomes a little lighter, my path easier to tread.  I feel a hand reach down and caress my cheek, wiping away my pain and catching my tears as they fall.  I look up and feel a warmth bathe my face.  My hand reaches out for His and as He takes it, I am lifted into the air.  Now the footprints behind me are not my own.  They are His…and they barely break the sand’s surface.  “It was then that I carried you…”

This is the vision that God gave me this morning when I awoke.  I kept seeing His hand reach down to grasp mine as I reached for His.  I felt my tears drying.  I felt restored.  I felt the need to write (thank You, Father!).  I needed to share this with you today.  You need to know that no matter where you are in your life, God was there before you.  He has already walked the paths that you walk and made a way for you to endure.

I made a pot of coffee (Starbucks Morning Blend :)) and sat down to pray.  I almost always pray for Him to use my hands, heart and mind as His instruments.  This morning was no different.  I prayed for Him to conduct me for His glory and His honor.  He led me here…

“Who has believed our message?  To whom has the Lord revealed His powerful arm?  My servant grew up in the Lord’s presence like a tender green shoot, like a root in dry ground.

There was nothing beautiful or majestic about His appearance, nothing to attract us to Him.  He was despised and rejected- a man of sorrows, acquainted with the deepest grief.  We turned our backs on Him and looked the other way.  He was despised, and we did not care.

Yet it was our weaknesses He carried; it was our sorrows that weighed Him down.  And we thought His troubles were punishment from God, a punishment for His own sins!  But He was pierced for our rebellion, crushed for our sins.  He was beaten so we could be whole.  He was whipped so we could be healed.  All of us, like sheep, have strayed away.  We have left God’s paths to follow our own.  Yet the Lord laid on Him the sins of us all.

He was oppressed and treated harshly, yet He never said a word.  He was led like a lamb to the slaughter.  And as a sheep is silent before the shearers, He did not open His mouth.  Unjustly condemned, He was led away.  No one cared that He died without descendants, that His life was cut short in midstream.  But He was struck down for the rebellion of my people.  He had done no wrong and had never deceived anyone.  But He was buried like a criminal; He was put in a rich man’s grave.

But it was the Lord’s good plan to crush Him and cause Him grief.  Yet when His life is made an offering for sin, He will have many descendants.  He will enjoy a long life, and the Lord’s good plan will prosper in His hands.  When He sees all that is accomplished by His anguish, He will be satisfied…”
-Isaiah 53:1-11

I grieve, yet I’m also hopeful.  I hurt, yet I am healing.  I am in pain, yet I am alive.  I am a child of God, and I will see her again one day soon.

This is one of my favorite songs at the moment.  Despite where you are, He can breathe glorious, never-ending life into your soul.  Close your eyes, listen and be healed.

8 responses to “It Was Then That I Carried You…

    • Thank you, Andy…we appreciate that. We thank God that He has put people like you and your family in our path to help with this walk. Blessings to you all today and always.

Leave a Reply

