Waiting…

*Spoiler Alert:  If you’re going to watch the movie Hatchi:  A Dog’s Tale, don’t read this post until you do.

One thing I’ve found since I began writing Holy Ghost Bumps in February of last year is that I never know where God will give me the inspiration for a post.  Today’s happens to come from a movie…about a dog of all things.

Lena and I were giving the two little ones (Emma- 2 and Mia- 2 mos.) a bath.  She sent me to their room to get some pj’s for Mia.  On the way, I had to pass through the living room.  We had the TV on, and there was a movie on the Starz Kids and Family channel called Hatchi: A Dog’s Tale with Richard Gere and Joan Allen.  We were barely paying attention to it before going into the bathroom, but I remember the only scene I watched prior to that was of a stray dog befriending a professor named Parker (Gere).

I grabbed some footies for Mia, but on my way back to the girls, something about the movie made me pause.  The next two minutes moved me.  A Japanese man was talking to a dog in Japanese in a town square at a train station.  The dog was apparently the puppy from earlier, and he was waiting for Parker to get off the train.  Bear in mind, I hadn’t seen any of the movie save for that one scene.  However, I deduced that Parker wasn’t coming back.  He died, or moved off or something else entirely.  But what the man said to the dog…Hatchi…was what got me.  He told him about his friend, but if he had to wait for him, the man understood.  He then told Hatchi to have a good life (paraphrasing all of this as I couldn’t read the subtitles through my tears).

For some reason, what the man said to Hatchi was profound to me.  Images of this dog sitting in the same spot in the same square waiting for a companion that would never come struck me as so very sad.  I dried my eyes as best I could before going back to help Lena.  When I walked in the bathroom, my wife immediately asked me what was wrong.  I told her that I think I just got my next blog post.

I told her about the scene (here she made it a point to tell me that she definitely wasn’t going to watch the movie), and about how it moved me.  I began thinking about being so faithful and loyal to her and the girls.  From there, I began thinking about how we should be that faithful and loyal to God in all we do.  I felt confident that I was on the right track and couldn’t wait to start writing.  Only later when I was watching the movie (I rewound it on the DVR and recorded it) did I realize that there was something even greater that I needed to see.

Lena and I made it into the living room after getting Mia and Emma ready for bed.  And of course, I put the movie on.  Notice I said Lena and I…yes, she watched it with me :D.  As I was sitting on the couch holding Emma, Hatchi demonstrated even more faithfulness and loyalty.  He waited for Parker’s train every day at the same spot in the square…for almost 10 years!  Parker suffered a fatal heart attack, which was why he never came home.  The dog continued to come to that spot, even after his family packed him up and moved from the house they lived in all their lives.  Hatchi waited every day.  He was faithful every day.  He was loyal every day.  My earlier thoughts shifted from how we needed to be faithful and loyal to God every day to HE is faithful and loyal to us every day.

I envision Him standing there with His arms open wide.  He calls to us.  He wants to hold us and comfort us.  He wants us to see that He has everything under control.  He is there for us even when we don’t want Him.  When we spit in His face with the sins we commit, He is still there.  When we turn away from Him and try to handle things on our own, He is still there.   When we curse Him and belittle Him and neglect Him and reject Him…He is still there.  He is eternally waiting…every second of every minute of every hour of every day.  He is faithful.  And He is loyal.

“The faithful love of the Lord never ends!  His mercies never cease.  Great is His faithfulness; His mercies begin afresh each morning.  I say to myself, “The Lord is my inheritance; therefore I will hope in Him.”- Lamentations 3:22-24

The tears roll unhindered down my cheeks in unabashed sorrow and love.  To know that my God loves me that much is overwhelming.  To know that no matter how much I screw things up or fall flat on my face, He is always faithfully there, waiting to pick me back up and wrap me in His warm, loving embrace.

The song I Can Only Imagine by Mercy Me is my musical selection for this post.  I’d never seen the video for it until tonight (though it’s one of my favorite songs).  I feel it fits the theme of this message pretty well.  Pay particular attention to the picture frames.  They are eventually filled with pictures of loved ones who have passed away and are waiting patiently (faithfully) to see us again.

If you already have a relationship with Jesus, I pray this reminds you of how unfailing and steadfast He is.  If you have yet to come to Christ, I pray He moves you through His words.  He’s at the train station…waiting faithfully for you to return home.

18 responses to “Waiting…

  1. You’re right. Dogs are a great example of unconditional love. We humans screw it up on a daily basis, but we could sure learn from our dogs.

    I’m going to have to find and watch this movie. I vaguely remember hearing about this true story but had forgotten until reading your post.

  2. Dang it, ya got me again big guy! Loved the movie, loved the message, loved the video. And loved how you tied it all together. Now wiping away tears and going to go hug my family! Love and blessings my friend.

    • Thank you, Brother LeRoy! I always appreciate your stopping by. I’m working on a surprise for you…Memories of Meredith. It’s a page dedicated to my grandfather’s poetry. Hope you’ll enjoy! Be blessed…

    • Thanks so much, MJ. That’s the point of the Ghost Bumps…to give you chills whenever I can :D. I’m just incredibly thankful and blessed that He speaks to me so clearly! Blessings to you and yours…

Leave a Reply

