Give Yourself COMPLETELY…

Let me set the scene for you.  I’m in the living room, relaxing on the couch with a bowl of nachos and a Pepsi (waaay better than Coke, in my opinion).  The kids are all occupied in their rooms, and I’m watching my Cowboys lose to the Giants…again :(.  Now, I have to say here that when I watch football, I don’t just watch it.  I come from four generations of football players and played in college.  I can actually tell you which lineman made a pancake block on any given play (*a pancake block is when a guy flattens the other guy on his back like a pancake).  I’m engrossed in the game when my wife comes in and begins to try to tell me about something that someone said about something that happened somewhere…get the picture?  I couldn’t remotely begin to tell you what she was saying.  She didn’t have my undivided attention.  I wasn’t COMPLETELY listening to her.  I didn’t COMPLETELY engage in her conversation.  And she COMPLETELY let me know about it!

Ever not give God your COMPLETE attention?  Ever let the trials of this life COMPLETELY overwhelm you to the point you can’t hear Him letting you know everything will be okay?  Ever not serve Him wholeheartedly and COMPLETELY?  I’m guilty of all three.  And that’s not what He wants us to do.

“And Solomon, my son, learn to know the God of your ancestors intimately.  Worship and serve Him with your whole heart and willing mind.  For the Lord sees every heart and knows every plan and thought.  If you seek Him, you will find Him.  But if you forsake Him, He will reject you forever.” -1 Chronicles 28:9

In my bible, it describes the principles that King David was conveying to Solomon:

1.  Get to know God personally.
2.  Learn God’s commands and discover what He wants you to do.
3.  Worship God with wholehearted devotion.
4.  Serve God with a willing mind.
5.  Be faithful.
6.  Don’t become discouraged.

Don’t you know that these same principles should be practiced by every Christian today?  When you do, when you give Him your COMPLETE love and devotion, your COMPLETE and undivided attention, your COMPLETE heart and soul, you will become like Him.  You will let His spirit dwell within you.  When that happens, it will exude from every fiber of your being and become contagious to those around you.  When you know how to COMPLETELY give yourself over to Him, it will become second nature for you to COMPLETELY give yourself to your wife, husband, boyfriend, girlfriend, etc.  After all, that’s what He intended for us to do…love our partner COMPLETELY and with our whole heart.

So let go of yourself COMPLETELY, and serve Him today.

I’ll leave you with this video of forever Jones.  He really does want all of you today :D.

4 responses to “Give Yourself COMPLETELY…

  1. Love it – I have a “footlball husband” too – only he loves College Football – his alma mater is California State Unniv @ Fresno – we still call them Fresno State
    Unfortunately, hubby watches more losing than winning but he still wait and hopes.
    I have watched every type of football game from Pro’s to college with some high school games thrown in – (oh, the sacrifices of a football wife!)

    I still miss the old Pro penalty called Backfield in Motion – I am DENIED the chance to sing “backfield in motion sang by Mel & Tim (shows you how old I am)

    Truly our walk with God could be compared to the ups and downs of a beloved football fan (no disrespect or dimmishment of the Word intended)
    GF: God First

    God bless
    susie

    • Lol…thanks Susie! You and my wife should talk. I’m sure you’d have some stories to tell about us football guys :D. I like to think that God is most definitely a football fan…probably the Cowboys and Auburn Tigers (though Lena will put a plug in for her Gators :). Be blessed!

Leave a Reply

