Category 5 Love…

“He is jealous for me.  Loves like a hurricane, I am a tree.  Bending beneath the weight of His wind and mercy.  When all of a sudden, I am unaware of these afflictions eclipsed by glory.  And I realize just how beautiful You are and how great Your affections are for me.” -David Crowder Band, “How He Loves”

I woke up this morning with this song in my head.  I’m not talking about a passing thought.  I’m talking about a thought that wraps itself around your cerebral cortex and won’t let go.  I tried to go back to sleep after my wife and kids left for work and school respectively (I have to work the graveyard shift tonight :(), but it kept repeating itself over and over again.  I was able to drift off and catch a couple more hours, but the song persisted.  Finally I gave up.  Okay, Father.  I’m awake now.  What is it I need to see?

I did a few things around the house, cleaning, laundry, etc. (yes, ladies, some men actually do those things, too :D), and still I heard the song.  So, I sat down with my Bible, prayed…which I always do before I begin to write…and started focusing on the words.  The first word that stood out to me was “jealous.”  That’s something that many people have to deal with in a relationship.  And since this blog is about just that, it seemed like a good place to start.

When I looked jealous up in the concordance, the first few verses centered on God’s jealousy.  Kind of weird to think about God being a jealous God, but He’s not jealous in the “Who is she?”, “What are you doing?”, Where have you been?”, psycho-stalker kind of way.  His is more the “I am your Father and I deserve and demand all of your attention.” kind of jealousy…

“You must not bow down to them or worship them, for I, the Lord your God am a jealous God who will not tolerate your affection for any other gods…” -Exodus 20:5

He’s referring to anything that takes our attention off of Him, of course, which can be many different things, not just other false deities.  But this jealousy of His stems from His love of us.  I looked at a few of the other verses before settling on this one…

“Love is patient and kind.  Love is not jealous or boastful or proud or rude.  It does not demand its own way.  It is not irritable, and it keeps no record of being wronged.  It does not rejoice about injustice but rejoices whenever truth wins out.  Love never gives up, never loses faith, is always hopeful, and endures through every circumstance.”-1 Corinthians 13:4-7

The title of this chapter is, “Love is the Greatest.”  This got me thinking about the love instead of jealousy.  I’ve already posted once about love (All You Need Is Love), but it was more about love being able to sustain you through many of the trials of your life and your relationship when it starts with your love for God.  This time, I think it’s more about “how” to love like that instead of what it can do.  Granted, its abilities are everywhere in this verse, but you have to learn how to love the right way if you hope to build a Godly relationship with Him and your family.

You can start here with my Bible’s study guide…

“Our society confuses love and lust.  Unlike lust, God’s kind of love is directed outward toward others, not inward toward ourselves.  It is utterly unselfish.  This kind of love goes against our natural inclinations.  It is impossible to have this love unless God helps us set aside our own natural desires so that we can love and not expect anything in return.  Thus, the more we become like Christ, the more love we will show to others.”

After I read this, I went back and looked at the song lyrics.  Music has always been a tremendous influence on my life (thank you, grandfather, for playing all those classical records for me when I was young :)), and it’s even more poignant now with Contemporary Christian and Praise and Worship.  As I looked at the title again, it dawned on me that it’s explaining the depth and power of God’s love for us.  I’ve been a Category 3 hurricane before, and it wasn’t pretty.  My wife has actually been in a Category 5.  DCB does an awesome job, when you think about it, of comparing God’s love to one of the most powerful forces on the face of the earth.  Just ask the people of New Orleans what a Cat 5 can do.

So how does this apply to your relationship?  Simple.  Love each other like a hurricane! 😀  Live outwardly for God, and strive to love Him the way He loves you.  This kind of love will permeate through every fiber of your being.  You’ll get “the glow” (to steal a term from Berry Gordy’s “The Last Dragon” :)).  When that happens, it will flow forth from you over your wife, husband, children, etc., with the force of a hurricane-driven wave.

Love like a Cat 5 today!

Leave a Reply

