Worship More, Worry Less…

“Worry weighs a person down.  An encouraging word cheers a person up.”
-Proverbs 13:25

As I listen to a lot of my friends (or read about many of them on Facebook) and consider the hiccups in my own life, I notice there’s a recurring theme…we all worry.  Over jobs.  Over finances.  Over family.  Over finances.  Over health.  Over finances.  Did I mention money?  The bottom line is this people:  God doesn’t want us to worry!  Period.  End of story.

It sounds a lot easier said than done, and I’ll admit, it’s not something that comes naturally to me either.  I am finding out, however, that when you encourage someone else not to worry about something and remind them that God’s got it under control, it becomes easier to take your own words to heart.

I was listening to American Family Radio (highly recommend them!) on the way home from dropping my daughter off at school this morning.  I couldn’t listen on the way because it would have distracted her from her reading (Breaking Dawn…guess I’ll always play second-fiddle to Edward :D).  JJ and Ron were talking about a motivational speaker which got me thinking about today’s installment.

JJ said that the speaker held up a glass of water and asked how much it weighed?  His answer was that it depends how long you hold onto it.  If you hold it up long enough, the weight becomes unbearable.  The same holds true of worry.  I’ve known people who carry worry around with them everywhere they go and have no idea how to get rid of it.  My parents were two of them.  It drove my mother to drink and my father to always search for a better way to make a buck (I think he’s tried virtually every multi-level marketing program there is :)).  Both of their worry was about not having enough money.  I’m so thankful that God is in my heart now, and that I can impart His wisdom to my wife and children (my childhood may have been a lot different were that the case with my parents).

When he was finished talking about the speaker, JJ played “Mighty to Save” by Laura Story and then “This Little Light of Mine” by Addison Road (great music if you haven’t heard these versions :)).  My God can save me from everything in one way or another, and I’m going to take this light he has instilled in me and shine it into every possible corner of my world that I can.

When I returned home, I got out my Bible and looked up worry in the concordance.  The first verse listed was  Proverbs 13:25, which I’ve already written for you at the beginning of this post.  I felt led to give you that one because of the importance of speaking “do not worry” to yourself and to those that need to hear it.  The other scripture I feel led to share is this…

“Give all your worries and cares to God, for He cares about you.”
-1 Peter 5:7

Here’s what the study guide says about this verse…

“Carrying your worries, stresses and daily struggles by yourself shows that you have not trusted God fully with your life.  It takes humility, however, to recognize that God cares, to admit your need and to let others in God’s family help you.  Sometimes we think that the struggles caused by our own sin and foolishness are not God’s concern.  But when we turn to God in repentance, He will bear the weight even of those struggles.  Letting God have your anxieties calls for action, not passivity.  Don’t submit to circumstances but to the Lord, who controls your circumstances.”

Are we going to continue to worry?  Sure we are.  We’re human beings.  But if we strive to become better fathers, husbands, wives, mothers, children of God, i.e. worship God with all our hearts and souls in ALL we do, then life just might become a little more worry-free.

In the words of the immortal Bobby McFerin…”Don’t worry.  Be Happy!”  More poignant now than when you first heard the song, huh?

Leave a Reply

