Pounded Into Perfection

When I look back on the notes that I’ve written for a particular day on my walk, I always go back and re-read the scriptures that go along with it.  Instead of focusing on just that one verse, however, I look all around it.  I read the study guide and the little add-ins that the publishers have put in to further explain God’s word.  Invariably, things make more sense the second time I read everything than when He first put it on my heart to  see it in the first place.  Such is the case with today’s step…a perfect relationship through perfect progress.

To better understand what I mean, let me first set the stage for what God did to motivate me to write this blog.  We all know that life is busy.  Life is noise.  Life is hectic and frantic.  We take a pounding.  But it’s filled with little moments when we can stop and smell the proverbial roses every now and again.  Even though I don’t always make the time (notice I didn’t say have the time…that would be a lie :)) to meditate with God, I still try to walk and talk with Him throughout the course of my day.  And on this particular day, I was at Thinking Post Number 2 (A.K.A. The Ironing Board) when I started thinking about when I was supposed to create Holyghostbumps (though unnamed at that time).  At first, I asked Him to show me when it was time because I was still having reservations that this is what I’m supposed to do.  But because I had begun to learn more about how God wants us to be, I changed my phrasing.  A friend of mine once told me that if you walk around thinking that you’ll never make a million dollars a month, you never will.  If you change your thought process to what can I do to make a million dollars a month, though you still may fall short of that million :), you’ll find that you’ll be infinitely more successful.  I told God that I had faith in Him that He would let me know when it was time to write.  He did.

On my way to drop the kids off at school, I received a text from my sister in Tennessee.  I had shared with her what I felt God was leading me into a few days prior, but her message was about a cousin that we had lost touch with contacting us on Facebook.  In the same conversation, she said she missed my scriptures because they were a blessing to her (I was sharing the scriptures that God was showing me with her, but because I wasn’t making the time to receive them, I didn’t have any to send to her).  I started to think to myself, “Self.  Is it time?  If I this journey were a blog, she could simply go to the site and read it.”

Even though I didn’t commune with my Father that day, I did open my planner and read the scripture.  It was from Philippians 3:20, and it was on citizenship.  I thought to myself that couldn’t be what I was supposed to see.  That doesn’t really fit with relationship building.

“But we are citizens of heaven, where the Lord Jesus Christ lives.  And we are eagerly waiting for Him to return as our Savior.  He will take our weak mortal bodies and change them into glorious bodies like His own, using the same power with which He will bring everything under His control.”  footnote:  Paul wrote this from a Roman prison to thank his church family for their gift and to encourage their faith.

Later in the day, I received a call from a close friend in Arkansas.  Somehow John and I got on the topic of what God was doing in my life and how awesome it was.  He told me that three months ago (which would have been around October) I sounded like I was in a bad spot…like something was wrong in my life.  After sharing with him how excited and confident I was now, however, he said I sounded like a completely new person.  He then said he felt like he’s where I was back then.  I started to share much more of this story with him, and he said he felt much better.  He shared with me that while he and his wife were living in West Palm Beach, Fl a few months ago, they had found a great church home and loved it.  Since they moved back to the country, however, they hadn’t been able to find someplace to really get plugged in.  The Holyghostbumps hit me then.  If I started chronicling this journey, he’d be able to read it and be blessed like God was blessing me.  Was it time?

My pastor confirmed it for me that evening.  I had called him to share with him the things God was doing in my life since Dean (Sikes) came to our church.  I explained to him about the tears and tingles I experienced when I felt connected with what God wanted me to see.  He told me that I may not always get that when we were on the same page.  Sometimes, most of the time, it would simply be a peace in my heart that God put His stamp of approval on it.  Which was exactly what I felt about writing this.  And there is nothing, nor anyone, that can duplicate the peace of God.

Once I got the go-ahead, I went to my bible and read the entire verse in Philippians.  It has an add-in here that says there are three stages of perfection, with the first being a perfect relationship!

“We are perfect because of our eternal union with the infinitely perfect Christ.  When we become His children, we are declared “not guilty” and thus righteous because of what Christ, God’s beloved Son, has done for us.  This perfection is absolute and unchangeable, and it is this perfect relationship that guarantees that we will one day be “completely perfect” (the 3rd stage).”

Then I went to the guide…

“Citizens of a Roman colony were expected to promote the interests of Rome and maintain the dignity of the city.  In the same way, citizens of heaven ought to promote heaven’s interests on earth and lead lives worthy of heavenly citizenship.  Too many Christians have failed to transfer their citizenship to heaven.  They still seek earthly pleasures and treasures instead of heavenly ones.  Paul told the Colossians to remember that they are citizens of heaven, where the Lord Jesus Christ lives.  Have you transferred your citizenship?  How are you promoting heaven’s interests?”

By starting this blog!  😀

As I write this today, I went back to the verse and read even more of the scriptures.  In verses 12-16 Paul writes:

“I don’t mean to say that I have already achieved these things or that I have already reached perfection.  But I press on to possess that perfection for which Christ Jesus first possessed me.  No, dear brothers and sisters, I have not achieved it, but I focus on this one thing:  Forgetting the past and looking forward to what lies ahead.  I press on to reach the end of the race and receive the heavenly prize for which God, through Christ Jesus, is calling us.  Let all who are spiritually mature agree on these things.  If you disagree on some point, I believe God will make it plain to you.  But we must hold on to the progress we have already made.”

My first draft of this post was only about the Perfect Relationship.  Look at what it says about Perfect Progress:

“We can grow and mature spiritually as we continue to trust Christ, learn more about Him, draw closer to Him, and obey Him.  Our progress is changeable (in contrast to our relationship) because it depends on our daily walk- at times in life we mature more than other times.  But we are growing toward perfection if we ‘press on’.  These good deeds do not perfect us; rather, as God perfects us, we do good deeds for Him.”

I can only pray that this blog aids you on your path to being Completely Perfect through your Perfect Progress in building the Perfect Relationship.  What an AMAZING God we serve!

Leave a Reply

