Our Help Comes From The Lord

When God first showed me this post a few months ago, I jotted down some things about what I was doing that day that confirmed this was what He wanted me to see.  Didn’t make time to mediate in the morning before work.  Didn’t read the verse to Lena.  Immediately felt the rush of the day’s activities as soon as my feet hit the bedroom floor that morning.  In spite of all that, I woke up singing My Help Comes From The Lord as performed by the Brooklyn Tabernacle Choir (can’t help I’m a Yankee at heart :)).

Fast forward to today.  Day eight of the 90 days.  I checked my Facebook page this morning and a friend of mine posted that she was feeling overwhelmed.  I reminded her about the “Overwhelmed” post and prayed before sitting down to write.  Instead, I think this was what she needed to see.

Psalm 55:22-23.  That’s the verse that was shown to me back when.  As I read it over again, I started at the beginning.  “Listen to my prayer, O God.  Do not ignore my cry for help!” David wrote.  “Please listen and answer me, for I am overwhelmed by my troubles.  My enemies shout at me, making loud and wicked threats.  They bring trouble on me and angrily hunt me down.”  Sound familiar?  Who doesn’t feel that way sometimes?  Even the most faithful Christians will try to tackle their burdens by themselves until God reminds them that He wants us to give them to Him.  I know I’m guilty of that on a much more regular basis than I’d like to admit.

The middle of this Psalm is about God confusing David’s enemies so that he may escape “far from this wild storm of hatred.”  It speaks of the real enemy being the wickedness in the city.  The real wounds coming at the hands of a friend, the kind of wound that cuts deepest.  And in spite of how close he was to God, David still wanted to flee.  In the end, however, he finds his strength.  Verses 16-22…

“But I will call on God, and the Lord will rescue me.  Morning, noon and night I cry out my distress, and the Lord hears my voice.  He ransoms me and keeps me safe from the battle waged against me, though many still oppose me.  God, who has ruled forever, will hear me and humble them.  For my enemies refuse to change their ways; they do not fear God.  As for my companion, he betrayed his friends; he broke his promises.  His words are as smooth as butter, but in his heart is war.  His words are as soothing as lotion, but underneath are daggers!  Give your burdens to the Lord, and He will take care of you.  He will not permit the godly to slip and fall.”

The Incredible Hulk.  Samson.  Atlas.  Superman.  The winner of ESPN’s World’s Strongest Man competition.  Their strength doesn’t amount to a hill of beans without God.  The study guide…

“God wants us to give our burdens to Him, but often we continue to bear them ourselves even when we say we are trusting in Him.  Trust the same strength that sustains you to carry your cares also.  The theme of this Psalm is trusting in God’s care in the midst of fear.  When all seems dark, one truth still shines bright:  When God is for us, those against us will never succeed.”

It’s pretty amazing how God works.  Lena and I are going through some changes in our lives…yes, I hit 40 later this year, but I’m not talking about male menopause :D.  I’m experiencing some career changes.  I’m praying that God continues to show me where I can best serve Him.  We’re expecting a fifth child into our little nuclear family.  Lena just changed jobs (which was a HUGE blessing for her).  Financially, there are major changes on the horizon.  The middle children are teenagers now.  A two-year-old is running around the house.  Our cat chases birds across the windows at the back of the house, destroying blinds in the process.  Our dog has learned to reach up and steal food off of plates left too close to the edge of countertops…  But our help…and strength…comes from the Lord.

*smiles and let’s out a looooooong sigh of relief*  Maybe this post wasn’t for her after all. 🙂

Leave a Reply

